A visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

More about A visit from the Goon Squad

There were two chapters I really enjoyed in this book: chapter 4 – Safari, which I’d read in The New Yorker, not realising it was part of a novel, and chapter 12 – Great Rock and Roll Pauses, written in the form of a Powerpoint presentation, which I thought very clever and amusing in a poignant sort of way. But basically, I would have been content with those two chapters as stand-alone short stories.

I found the non-linear story telling, which I usually enjoy, over the top and a distraction to the stories told. It’s a shame, because I thought the book had a lot going for it, but that it kind of lost the plot, as it were, as it went madly along.

Leave a Reply

