Haussmann, or the distinction by Paul Lafarge

More about Haussmann, Or the DistinctionA rather dry I’m-writing-with-cynical-detachment-but-sophisticated-readers-can-read-through-that-and-appreciate-my-prose style rather spoiled this book for me. I think I would have enjoyed it very much more with a more straightforward narrative approach.

The subject matter was interesting and the story was captivating in its way. I liked the ambiguity, the gaps and the uncertainties in the storytelling, which were dotted about the novel. I also liked the sense of flux induced by the emergence of the Paris to come that Haussmann was creating, mingled with anticipatory regret for the Paris that was.

Overall, an interesting, rather than an enjoyable read for me.

Leave a Reply

