Before I go to sleep by SJ Watson

Intriguing, disturbing, but in the end disappointing for me 

The concept of a memory that doesn’t span more than a day is certainly an interesting one and is, in fact, not just a concept but a clinical fact. I had come across something similar before, in one of Yok Ogawa’s novel, but the focus there was not on the professor’s 80 minute memory, but on his helper. I thought that the book started very well, intriguing first, and then becoming increasingly disturbing. The characters are convincing, and the story line too (short memory span aside, the actual plot is a fairly common situation). But the book fell down for me as it started to turn the narrative into a thriller; that bit didn’t work for me. So, I’m disappointed overall, unfortunately, because I was expecting something really good after a great start.

The concept of a memory that doesn’t span more than a day is certainly an interesting one and is, in fact, not just a concept but a clinical fact. I had come across something similar before, in one of Yoko Ogawa’s novels, but the focus there was not on the professor’s 80 minute memory, but on his helper. 

I thought that the book started very well, intriguing first, and then becoming increasingly disturbing. The characters are convincing, and the story line too (short memory span aside, the actual plot is a fairly common situation). But the book fell down for me as it started to turn the narrative into a thriller; that bit didn’t work for me. 
So, I’m disappointed overall, unfortunately, because I was expecting something really good after a great start. 

Leave a Reply

